… so, I finished “The More of Less”.

First of all, I will apologize if all you’re getting lately are just book reviews. Honestly, it was my main motivation to start a blog, but I did intend it to have sixes and nines and I promise I will focus more on sixes and nines in the future. However, when this book came along in the Blogging for Books website I couldn’t pass it up. I’ve been thinking about minimalism and living a minimalist lifestyle for a while now. Although I have no real attachment to most of my material belongings, I tend towards collecting….. “tend to” might be mild. Uhh, hello, my name is Elisa and I have hoarding tendencies. I like to save things “for later, because I’m sure I’ll use it eventually“. Specially crafts. I watched three videos on weaving baskets out of magazines… I didn’t have any magazines then…. so now I have 5 magazines ready to be turned into baskets buuuut I’ve moved on. Why don’t I throw out the magazines, you say? Well, what if I want to weave the baskets tomorrow? So, this book.. it seemed perfect. It did. But, remember how I don’t like to be indoctrinated?

I failed to do my research thoroughly. The author is Christian. I have absolutely no problem with religions, with religious people or with religious life… but I. don’t. like. to. be. indoctrinated. In this case, it’s my mistake for not going on Amazon and reading more about it – heck, it made it on the Christian Books and Bibles best sellers list. The book has their story, as well as other peoples’ stories, of everyone’s path towards minimalism. It was ok to read their stories – I skipped the religious parts – and it was an easy read while in a crowded mall waiting for my friends to show up. I did finish it in one sitting but only mostly  because I found myself skipping pages and pages at a time.

… so, I finished “The More of Less” and I expected to at least be able to “craft a personal, practical approach to decluttering your home and life” but I still don’t know exactly what to do. I didn’t see myself in any of the stories and I didn’t feel particularly inspired to keep looking. Maybe I should’ve just bought Mari Kondo’s book.

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

2 thoughts on “… so, I finished “The More of Less”.

  1. rae says:

    ahhhh, sneaky indoctrination, always a bummer 😐 i haven’t read marie kondo’s book yet either BUT i did re-organize my t-shirt drawer according to her methods and i LOVE it. fold your t’s like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bs7Lk6WOM7Y then put them into the drawer like this blog post shows: http://modernmrsdarcy.com/life-changing-magic-tidying-review/ and ta-daaaa, nice neat t-shirt drawer. considering how happy that one little tip made me i should probably read the whole book!

    Like

    • elisadallomo says:

      I saw that! That’s why I think I should get it. I mean, she looks so cool and calm, soo.. I’m sure it’s a big part of it. Sometimes my room stresses me out so I think it’s a clear indication that I need a more zen space INSTEAD OF MORE STORAGE SPACE. I’m over “buying storage to keep all my things in” so now I really want to just get stuff out.

      …. yea, I think I’m gonna end up buying the book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

