… so, I finished “America’s Best Breakfasts”

If I had to choose, I’m about 65% sure that breakfast food is my favorite food ever. Pancakes, waffles, fried eggs, sausage, bacon, milk and cereal, bread with coffee… plus other traditionally Dominican breakfast dishes I’m not sure you’d know of. Mashed plantains with fried salami, for example, plus a sunny-side-up egg right on top of the mashed plantains. I would eat breakfast food any time.. all day, every day. In fact, I often have breakfast for dinner.

However… for some inexplicable reason, I barely eat breakfast at the time you’re supposed to. Something about not being able to eat any solids before 10am when I was a kid/teenager.. and now that I can eat at 5am if I wanted to, since I’m not used to it, I never count it as a part of my morning routine so I never save up enough time to cook breakfast. It usually means I get to work and either buy a toasted ham and cheese sandwich or freshly baked bread (used to be butter bread, now it’s whole wheat), or just don’t eat breakfast at all and wait until mid-morning to eat a snack. This is something I want to change. I want to eat breakfast in the morning, when you’re “supposed” to! Not just for yummy reasons but for health reasons, too. So I figured a recipe book full of breakfast ideas would be a wonderful thing to have.

… so, I finished “America’s Best Breakfasts” and, uhh, I think these are “breakfast for dinner” recipes. Some take way too long to prepare (I don’t have enough time in the mornings) and some use weird ingredients I don’t really wanna eat so early in the morning, know what I mean? Still, it’s a good book to have just to have.. and to make breakfast for dinner – doesn’t that sound like heaven?! But I might have to start looking for a recipe book with “frozen breakfasts to defrost in the mornings”……

What’s your favorite breakfast food?

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

7 thoughts on “… so, I finished “America’s Best Breakfasts”

  1. rae says:

    breakfast for dinner is the best!!! i like the idea of a “breakfast for dinner” cookbook ;D french toast, sausage, crispy hashbrowns… mmm, i would eat it any time. on a more practical note, lately for breakfast i’ve been having plain oatmeal mixed up with scrambled eggs and a bit of milk, maple syrup, and a dash of cinnamon. i know it sounds awful but it actually tastes alright and it keeps me full for a long time. it’s not very exciting though 🙂

    Like

    • elisadallomo says:

      WAT?! Can you give me a more detailed explanation of how you do that?! ‘Cause I have all those things at home (except the syrup, which I’ll sub with honey) and I want to try it. PLEASE.

      Like

      • rae says:

        I just make a bowl of plain oatmeal then separately make scrambled eggs, then just dump the eggs along with milk and syrup into the oatmeal bowl and stir it up! Healthy and easy 😃

        Like

      • elisadallomo says:

        I will try it on the weekend! And if I can convince you to send me a videoooo through one of the social medias or something before then………. or even a series of pictures where I can see the proportions and stuff. I’m not being purposely slow or anything (because it sounds like the most simplest thingest ever!!) but it sounds yummy AND it sounds like I can mess it up by doing too much or too little of one of the things, you know?

        By the way, mine will probably have cinnamon as well. 😍

        Like

      • rae says:

        hahaha, my proportions are usually about 2/3 cup cooked oatmeal, 3 eggs, 2 tablespoons milk, 1 tablespoon syrup, and enough cinnamon to totally cover the top 😉 i think you could make a savory version too, with hot sauce or cheese!

        Like

Leave a Reply

