… so, I finished “The Tabasco Cookbook”.

Ok, you might think I’m nuts.. specially after my last cookbook fiasco… but I just had to try again. You may or may not know already, but I’m determined to find perfect cookbooks for my future kitchen. So I just closed my eyes and clicked on the “order” button without a third thought (’cause, after the fiasco, a second thought is always given).

This book IS ONE OF THE PERFECT ONES!! I’m serious. First of all, the book itself is 144 pages long. Foreword has two pages, Preface has two more and the Original Introduction has 4… plus four more pages of random information at the end. And then, guess what? RECIPES. Glorious pages full of recipes. 80 in total, and the majority fall in the “oooh, I definitely wanna make that!!” category. There aren’t even many pictures, which is kind of a good thing, since what I want are recipes. They’re divided into specific sections, which makes it easier to browse.. and there’s a clear graphic to differentiate the different levels of “spicy” a.k.a. the “piquancy scale”, which is just so fancy that I might start using it in my day-to-day vocabulary. In the spirit of full disclosure, the only thing I would change is to add a differently organized index in the first few pages of the book. Just something to list the recipes with their respective page number so I don’t have to go through a whole section to figure out what I want to make from that section. Does it make sense? I’m nitpicking, really…..

… so, I finished “The Tabasco Cookbook” and I recommend it 100%. Even if you’re not a fan of “spicy”, you will find that the recipes in this book work perfectly even without an extra kick. And there’s such a variety of recipes…. dips, soups, sauces, desserts…… you seriously can’t go wrong. And if you don’t like too much spice, I recently bought a Mango + Habanero sauce that is to die forrrrr. A subtle spice with a sweet and tangy tone…? Yum. Just putting it out there.

Do you like spicy food food with a high number in the piquancy scale?

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

4 thoughts on “… so, I finished “The Tabasco Cookbook”.

Leave a Reply

