… so, I finished “Brodo: A Bone Broth Cookbook”.

Do you remember when cookbooks were full of recipes? I do. I remember reading my mom’s cookbooks as a kid and going nuts. I’ve always had a big imagination, so I could “smell” the meats cooking, or “see” the butter melting, or “feel” the dough forming between my fingers as I read about it. I remember bending the corners of every recipe I wanted her to make… or help me make…. and having to stop because almost every corner was bent. It was simple, too: an introduction, either by the author or someone else, which took two pages at the most… and then, recipes. Lots and lots of them.

This book starts with what feels like an indoctrination. Reasons Why You NEEEEEED To Become A Broth Person. Is this what this new generation of recipe writers are going to be about? Cliques? Segmenting people into broth-ers…. detox-ers…… paleo or Atkins…. gluten free by choice, not allergic reasons…. smoothiers…. protein-shakers…. “do you do chia?”…. super food-ers? I’ve been reading science fiction for a while now.. it feels like we’re almost living inside one of those books. Everything is the answer. Everything is the cure. Nothing is a part of the whole, everything is its own separate entity. Apparently, so are broths. Broths are the new…. umm… the new whatever was big earlier. It’s not just a broth anymore, it’s a whole production. “Recent explosion of interest in bone”? That’s not recent. Bone broths aren’t new! Is everyone seriously finding out about them now?

… so, I finished “Brodo: A Bone Broth Cookbook” and, though I wanted a book full of broth and related recipes, I have to settle for a few tens of pages at the end. At least I got some, right? And, guess what? I still haven’t made one from this book. I’m not saying I’m not going to, or that I don’t like this book… I just really, really wanted a book-full of broth and broth-related recipes.

Do you like broth?

Disclaimer: I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

3 thoughts on “… so, I finished “Brodo: A Bone Broth Cookbook”.

  1. rae says:

    bleh, sounds kind of obnoxious! if you want to write a self-help book, write a self-help book… don’t call it a cookbook. as with so many things, i think there’s just not much money in trying to appeal to people who live a moderate life and don’t go overboard with fads and trends. why sell a simple bone broth cookbook that people might pick up if the recipes sound tasty and nutritious, when you can sell an entire bone broth LIFESTYLE that people will cling to and evangelize? if we as a culture keep believing that there are “experts” with special knowledge, who can discover new perfect foods and perfect ways to health, we’ll keep pouring money into those industries. people who feel happy and secure largely ignore huge segments of our economy and do their own thing, rather than building their identity out of the stuff they consume, and that just won’t do!!! well, now i am putting my own manifesto into your comments section, but at least i didn’t do so while promising you recipes instead 😉

    relatedly, i just came across this website and it’s so perfect for this discussion! http://www.cookbooktitlegenerator.com/

    i actually don’t own many cookbooks (i always rely on the internet instead for recipes) but i love the experience you describe of browsing through a truly beautiful cookbook. the library and art museum in my town are both having used book sale fundraisers soon, i may have to go see if i can find any good additions for my kitchen!

    Like

    • elisadallomo says:

      Exactly. I wish it would’ve said “this is a book about the importance of bone broth and how to incorporate it into your lifestyle, and a few recipes to get you started”.. that way I know exactly what I was getting. Or maybe I just have to adjust to the new definition of “cookbook”. But, yes, I agree with your manifesto.. us, the fadless, we’re not a target audience for anyone.. it’s something we have to accept, I guess.

      I have to say that my biggest cookbook is Pinterest… but, thinking ahead, to when I have my own house and my own kitchen and etc.. I want cookbooks. Just so I can browse through them while I wait for water to boil, and to add notes to the margins…. like “adding a bit of mustard to this recipe makes it even yummier”..

      Like

Leave a Reply

